Advice on applying MSc Financial Mathematics in UK

Hi, I am interested to apply for MSc Financial Mathematics. My background is Financial Economics. I have tried my best to take as many math courses as possible (stochastic processes including SDE, real analysis,advanced calculus and Linear algebra).I have also taken one graduate level course in continuous time optimization (some review of differential equation, calculus of variation, Euler Lagrange,frechet and gateaux derivatives, Hamilton Jacobi Bellman and stochastic control) but I have not taken any PDE or ODE course . Using Digonalisation, Jordan form and Laplace transform to solve ODE was covered in one of the mathematical method course. Will I have any chance to be accepted for MSc Financial Math.

Will it helps to meet the entry requirement of differential equation if I take numerical PDE course online which covers Fourier methods, second-order PDEs, notable examples of elliptic, parabolic and hyperbolic PDEs, diffusion equation, Feynman-Kac theorem and relationship with SDEs, Crank Nicolson, theta method, stability and convergence., review of Numerical Linear Algebra. I have Programming experience in Stata, Matlab, C++ and python.

I am planning to apply for MSc math and finance in imperial.
Core Modules | Imperial College London
MSc Mathematics and Finance | Imperial College London

Last edited:
A quality course is MSc Computational Math Finance offered @ Edinburgh. The Imperial course ignores programming to a great extent and unless you are pursuing PhD such a rigorous foundation is overdone.

A quality course is MSc Computational Math Finance offered @ Edinburgh. The Imperial course ignores programming to a great extent and unless you are pursuing PhD such a rigorous foundation is overdone.