Career advice for a CS/Math PhD who wants to make money

Hi all,

I'm asking you for an advice on my future career as I am a bit lost. I'm a PhD student majoring in machine learning (did my bachelor in math/stats, so I have solid math background), and recently I started wondering what career path to choose if I want make lots of money by my mid 30-s, i.e. in a 10 years period. I'm not saying I want to become a billionaire or something, it's just that I have a lot of friends who work in IT as analysts/coders and I don't want to spend my whole life on a 100k paid job (ok maybe with some career opportunities to become a senior engineer / PM in 10 years and get paid 150-200k when you turn 40, right).

If I figured out it correctly, apart from starting your own business, for a person with my background there are basically two options: it's either to go into consulting or to become a quant. Is that correct, or am I missing something?

And also could someone explain to me the actual career opportunities for a quant/consulter, what are the career steps, what are the salaries and how long does it usually take to get promoted on each stage?

Thanks in advance!

... and recently I started wondering what career path to choose if I want make lots of money by my mid 30-s, i.e. in a 10 years period...

Create your own company that solves a problem (real or perceived, it really doesn't matter) and people are willing to pay for.

:giggle:
I want to say one word to you. Just one word. Are you listening?
There's a great future in plastics. Think about it. BTMR, will you think about it?

Apologies for highjacking Ken's post.

Last edited:
I want an advice too. If I work in a major Investment Bank (6Yr experience) in NY as a structurer, earning a base of 140K, does it make sense to go for MFE just because I want to work in Quant Finance? Evaluating this in terms of finances, is it a good idea at all?