COMPARE Columbia MAFN vs NYU Poly MFE

• Thread starter Thread starter john k
  • Start date Start date
I have recently been accepted FT to both of these programs and although I am leaning towards Columbia, I was hoping to get some input before making a decision. I have been working as an actuary for over 3 years and am looking to eventually make the jump to a trading role after finishing my degree and getting some experience under my belt. As I understand it, the MAFN program is more theory focused while the NYU Poly program places a greater emphasis on practical implementation. NYU Poly's program is also significantly cheaper.

Anyone have any thoughts on which might be a better fit?

Columbia by a long shot. Brand name, quality of courses/teaching, recruiting, alumni network...the list goes on

"NYU Poly places greater emphasis on practical application, and NYU Poly's program is significantly cheaper"

Where are you getting either of those?

I wouldn't disagree with either of those purely on the basis that the MathFin curriculum is highly theoretical and Columbia's tuition is stupidly high. That being said, having a good practical skill set and saving some money on your education isn't worth much if you can't get a job. I think your background as an actuary will definitely help but breaking into Wall Street, particularly in those front office roles that pretty much everybody getting an MFE are looking for, is extremely difficult. The major IB's resume drops online are basically black holes. You might get some interviews from smaller firms or prop houses that way but the positions that most aspiring quants are looking for are hard to get if you're not going through campus recruiting. That's why I think it's worth overlooking the theoretical nature and the price tag that comes with the MathFin program.

OK, I looked this one up... looks like NYU Poly is about $45k, and Columbia is $57k-- point taken.