COMPARE Columbia MSOR or UChicago MAFM

• Thread starter Thread starter jsim
  • Start date Start date

Columbia MSOR vs. UChicago MAFM

• Columbia MSOR

• UChicago MAFM

Results are only viewable after voting.
So I got admission from these two and still deciding..
I'm graduating this May from my undergraduate institution and entering masters this coming fall.
No plans for PhD and I'm an international student but have no plans on going back to my home country until I work for at least a few years if I find a job here after masters.
Not much work experience except some internships, but these were finance related yet not so quantitative roles. That means, no hands on experience in quantitative finance.

1. One thing I like about the Columbia MSOR program is that it's very flexible. I'm going for masters directly out of undergrad so I think the flexibility of the curriculum will be a big plus for me. My concern about the program is that it looks like MSOR is less valued than other programs in NYC like Baruch MFE, Columbia MFE, Cornell MFE, Columbia MAFN, and NYU Mathfin in the job market. It seems that the MSOR program is pretty proud of the job placement from what's on their website but I'm concerned if the students in MSOR actually land in good positions in the market while competing against students from all these other programs in NYC.