Entry into Finance - With an Engineering Ph.D

• Thread starter Thread starter slance
  • Start date Start date
I am a Researcher working in the field of Computational modeling in academia. I have a Ph.D in Engineering. 36 yrs old with family.

Recently, I have become highly fascinated with financial markets and I am purely attracted to Asset management/Equit research part of the finance and value investing. I am planning to take some online finance courses first, but now feel that CFA would be best for the knowledge.

I am wondering about the best paths to break into finance. My long term goal is to continue invest my own money and If I am successful or any better, then to manage others money in future.

While, I am truly passionate about finance and investing, I am trying to understand if this means making a career switch, or just continuing in my current field with investing as a passion and hobby.I have the follow dilemmas in front of me and I will greatly appreciate any comments and advice.

1) To keep working in my current field as a Researcher/Faculty in industry/academia, which would give me a steady stream of income, stability, flexibility, and security and continue my learning through CFA exams (I, II, and III), and mainly investing my own money to develop a track record. (not much passion in current field. more in love with finance).

2) Or pass CFA Level 1 and/or 2 in a year, quit my current job, and look for entry level Asset management/financial analyst positions even for a substantially lesser salary to get into the field. (not sure about job prospects with PhD Engineering and CFA Level 1/and or 2)

3) Quit my job now, and get into MS Finance from top school with CFA partner program. This option will be costly, I will lose income, and pay for education. And could be stressful. (costly and stressful with family).