Getting into the field of computational finance

Hi All -

I am in my final year of my doctorate in biophysical chemistry. I have a bachelor's degree in chemistry with minor degrees in mathematics and business. My PhD research is entirely based on computational modeling of biological systems to better understand drug-protein interaction.

I am in the process of looking for jobs and haven't found anything of significant interest in science. My entire extended family is located in the NY metropolitan area and, having been away for the past decade studying all over the country, I would like to settle close to the city. I have been considering a move to computational finance.

I can program in a half dozen languages, I understand computational architecture, and I am strong in mathematics. That being said, beyond a fewer business courses I took for a minor degree I do not have much of a business background.

My question is, would I need to go back to school for additional study or is it even remotely possible that I could find a job in computational finance with a closely-related skill set but no formal education on the topic? Any comments are welcome and thank you in advance.

Thanks Connor. I'm embarrassed to admit, I wasn't even familiar with the acronym MFE before last week. I'm a pretty fast learner, especially when handling computer algorithms, so I'd like to avoid another 1-2 years of schooling if at all possible.