I would like advice on how to become a quant

I am a data-engineer turned software engineer. My intention is to become a quant developer or possibly a quant researcher (although this might not be right for me). I would like to ask successful quants for advice and resources to aid me in my journey.

- Development projects.
- Books & courses.
- Relevant mathematics to study.
- Software to learn.
- Relevant machine learning.
- Most profitable area of finance technology.

To give some context, I am fluent in Python, SQL, VBA and written some R, (haven't written it in years) and I have recently developed my own implementations of descriptive statistics (basics), k-means clustering and now linear and logistic regression. I have weak mathematics background which I am improving, and ideally would like to greatly accelerate my learning. I didn't finish my degree and feel that I am now past doing one maybe a masters in machine learning and AI once I feel I am sufficiently competent but unsure.

Finally, I really appreciate any advice. :):thumbsup:

C/C++ is fundamental, you need a little bit more than being "fluent"
Do you mean:
- asymptotic analysis
- algorithms and data structures
- knowledge of existing packages and tools
- testing
- integration between api etc

I am familiar with asymptotic analysis, I know quite a few algorithms (weak in dynamic programing but could pick it up easily enough) and have average library knowledge, I also test my work and have integrated software.

I could learn C or C++, which would you recommend and for which purpose? My understanding was that for modelling Python is often used and for algo trading C++. There are many quant jobs asking primarily for Python in their advertisements.

Can you order a coffee in Python.
1611491899805.webp

"Fluent" could mean anything. Can you program?

For C++ it means being able to write programs, from scratch if need be.

Last edited:
"Fluent" could mean anything. Can you program?