Implementing a basic mean reversion & intraday returns

Hello,

I'm a newbie and I'm currently trying implement a basic algorithmic trading strategy using historical returns data for a range of equities and indexes. However, when I was reading Ernie Chan's 'Quantitative Trading' he states that

"Unfortunately, we cannot trade on the mean reversion of returns. "

I'm not exactly sure why this is. Is it because the returns do not necessarily randomly distribute around a mean of zero? If I only have historical returns data, does this mean I'm confined to a momentum-based strategy?

Apologies if this seems basic, however I'm new to this field and while I would feel more comfortable implementing a mean reversion type algorithm, I just want to understand why this is apparently not possible with the data I have.

Hello,

I'm a newbie and I'm currently trying implement a basic algorithmic trading strategy using historical returns data for a range of equities and indexes. However, when I was reading Ernie Chan's 'Quantitative Trading' he states that

"Unfortunately, we cannot trade on the mean reversion of returns. "

I'm not exactly sure why this is. Is it because the returns do not necessarily randomly distribute around a mean of zero? If I only have historical returns data, does this mean I'm confined to a momentum-based strategy?

Apologies if this seems basic, however I'm new to this field and while I would feel more comfortable implementing a mean reversion type algorithm, I just want to understand why this is apparently not possible with the data I have.

No. you can't trade on mean reversion on returns. You buy/sell the asset under question. The returns are generally stationary. (Which implies they mean revert) Check that using Phillips-Perron test.

Now, to check if the means of the returns are 0, you would have to run a t-test to check if mu = 0.