Is a double major worth the time and effort?

Hello guys, I am an undergraduate at UC Berkeley doing a Computer Science B.A. and I was wondering if doing another major(most probably Stats or maybe Applied Math) is worth my time?

Basically, I am wondering whether doing a double major make me more valuable in the eyes of quant firms/financial industry in general? I have heard that most quant firms look for a masters anyway but I heard some hire undergrads as well.

FYI, these are some of the topics covered in the stats major:

1.Stochastic Processes
2.Linear Modelling: Theory and Applications
3.Introduction to Time Series
4.Modern Statistical Prediction and Machine Learning
5. Game Theory

Any advice is sincerely appreciated. Thanks guys.

If you want to do an mfe then yes a double major would be ideal. I'm a bit biased since I did my undergrad in pure math but I think the applied math degree would be a better choice than stats. Just make sure your GPA doesn't suffer, as this is one of the most important factors when applying to top mfe programs.

Hello Michael, thanks for the advice. Is there any reason an applied math degree would be better than a Statistics one? As far as I understand, topics like stochastic processes, time series seem far more applicable to finance and are covered in greater detail in Stats courses(in Berkeley, at least). Is it because applied math is seen as a harder major?

Hi again,
First please note that my experience with stats courses is a canadian one, so I might be comparing apples to oranges here.

Either way a stats major from Berkeley is great, I've heard it's an ok school, :p.

Last edited:
I did a double Math/CS. If you can manage your schedule well, it's a great way to load up on main courses, get 2 degrees with very little extra tuition. Some universities would have a max tuition cap so you pay the same whether you take 4 or 6 courses a semester. If you can manage the time and do well in all of them. It worked out well for me.