Looking for Guidance and Thoughts

Hello Everyone,

I was hoping someone could give me guidance on the path I should take for pursuing a career in Quantitative Finance as well as some guidance for Masters Programs.

A little bit of background:
I graduated from Rutgers University with a degree in Economics and a minor in Mathematics. During my last two years there I was focused on becoming a Quant, but my mind changed and I took another job offer in a non-finance related field. It is a lot of fun, the field is very quantitative. However, I want to shift into an even more quantitative field, so I thought I would go back to my roots and become a Quant. Here are my grades. My GPA was a 3.49 missed the 3.5 was very close. I have taken Calculus up to Differential Equations, and taken a very introductory level Matlab course. Still have to take my GREs, but I have taken a practice test and scored very well, with a bit of polishing I can do just fine.

Below are a few questions around guidance that I thought people could answer:

I was looking at the Baruch program and saw that they had a Pre-MFE program and was hoping to get people's thoughts on that? In addition, I wanted to take the C++ Certificate course offered through Quantnet and see if people had any thoughts on this as well. My thinking is too take this course part-time while working to see if I still have an interest in the program and if this type of career is right for me. If I enjoy it I will move on to other Pre-MFE seminar courses and still work full-time but leave work much earlier to do all of the seminar course work. After, I will apply to all the MFE programs I can and hopefully one will accept me.

Here are some questions I had for your guys:
What is the work like for the C++ course? The workload seems high, but can the program be done with decent grades part-time?