Matlab: pricing nonstandard fictitious option using monte carlo simulation

• Thread starter Thread starter Bhoj
  • Start date Start date
I need help to price one of the non standard option via monte carlo simulation in matlab. I would very much appreciate if any you are know better is willing to assist me. I will send the pdf with the issue. I am new to matlab. Thanks!

Thanks Freshdough. I really need a help to this issue. I have attached the pdf file. Just need to write to two programs to price a option similar to asian one. Thanks man! hope that it will be fine with you.

Attachments

The Monte Carlo part seems very simple. You know the risk neutral distribution of ( R_t ) (which happens to be independent of ( S )). Generate 10 of these (since the ( R_t ) is calculated annually and T=10). At each point calculate ( max(R_t, R) ). From there it is trivial to calculate the payoff.

This is one sample path. Repeat this sample numsum amount of times, divide by numsum, and discount at the risk free rate. This is the MC price of the option.

The MC standard error is (iirc) the standard deviation of the payoffs divided by ( \sqrt{numsum} )

Hi DStahl,
Thanks for the suggestion! It would be nice if you could attach me the code as per my attachment. I am just trying to learn how monte carlo is done in matlab.

You're right, this is old homework from a friend which I want to solve. And there is no deadline for this like homework because its just I wanna practice. I am not forcing you do anything DStahl. Its on your conviction, if you feel you wanna show how you code these, then I would welcome at anytime because its not H/W.