MFE Profile Review

Hi, I'm looking forward to joining the MFE programs in 2025. I have been a quant trader at a local security firm in South Korea for three years and want an opportunity in the USA. I already applied to UCB MFE for spring 2025 through round 4.

Target Programs: Top 10 MFE and MS in statistics programs for fall 2025

Education: Economics(Financial Economics), a prestigious school in Korea (GPA 3.8/4.0, Major 3.9/4.0)

Relevant Coursework
: Calculus, Linear Algebra, ODE, Analysis, Statistics, Numerical Analysis, Stochastic Process, Python, C, Econometrics, Derivatives, Machine Learning for Finance, etc.

Work Experience: I have been a trader for three years, including a year as a low-latency trader via rust programming.

Test Scores: TOEFL: 94(planned to retake), GRE: V151, Q 170

I have some questions below.

1) Do I also need to retake the GRE as well?
2) Is my profile competitive enough for admission?
3) How can I improve it?

Thanks for reading my post.

When university sees any profile, they check how easily can this person get a job. The easier they think it is, the more likely you will get admitted.
You have very relevant work ex, you should be able to get into a good program.

If you want to be a quant trader at market making firms, hedge funds - then you don't need c++. The tests are mostly mental maths, probability questions and market making games.
If you want to be a quant trader/dev at hft (in many hft, they are the same role) - then you will need very good c++, I mean extremely good. I think you would know this already as you mentioned that you did this for a year. You can check out certifications or you can learn on your own - I would start with learncpp.com

When university sees any profile, they check how easily can this person get a job. The easier they think it is, the more likely you will get admitted.
You have very relevant work ex, you should be able to get into a good program.