MS in Computer Science vs MS in Financial Engineering

Which degree is better for me to find a risk management job in the US?

• MS in Computer Science

Votes: 2 13.3%
  • MS in Financial Engineering

Votes: 13 86.7%

• Total voters
Dear all,

I would like to find a job in risk management, front-office IT, and risk IT in the US.

Therefore, as an international student, I am interested in getting an MS degree in the US.

I heard that in banks the mathematical part was handled by PhD and most MSFE (MS in Financial Engineering) graduates were in charge of the programming part.

In that case, I wonder:

1. Is MS in Computer Science better than MS in Financial Engineering for me to find such a job in the US? (I have got an MSFE in my home country.) If I would like to apply for OPT, are the jobs I mentioned are considered related to Computer Science?
  2. How hard it is for international students to find such a job in the US?
  3. How helpful will an FRM certificate be for international students to find such a job in the US?

It would be highly appreciated if somebody could help me clarify the above issues.

Thank you very much.

Best regards,

Henry

Risk management, front office technology, and risk technology are three vastly different areas - I don't know why you're grouping them together

1. A quant group at a bank may hire someone with a CS degree, but only if they have solid financial knowledge. With a MS CS there is a high chance you will be placed in technology (software development) and not the quant group. It is possible to go into quant research with an MSFE. On the contrary a tech company would only hire an MSFE if they have a specific need for the skillset and would probably prefer MS CS most of the time.

You don't need an MS to get into risk management, front office tech or risk tech.

2. Harder than it is for Americans/permanent residents because not all firms sponsor H1B visas.

3. Might get a nod, but will never be a dealbreaker / dealmaker

Hi mhy,