Need help for college project

I am an CS undergrad and I love finance too.(MBA+CFA Aspirant)
I am planning on doing a Project in finance sector. Once I saw a post on Quora where one of the commenter said that most of the softwares used in hedge funds or trading firms are crap and are not good so I am thinking about developing a new or optimizing existing software.
So here is my question,
Do the software work like crap? If yes then what type of improvements are expected?
Note: I am a newbie in finance and trying to learn on my own.

I am planning on doing a Project in finance sector. Once I saw a post on Quora where one of the commenter said that most of the softwares used in hedge funds or trading firms are crap and are not good so I am thinking about developing a new or optimizing existing software.
So here is my question,
Do the software work like crap? If yes then what type of improvements are expected?
You are a CS student and you do not know the status in the software industry? :)
The best improvement is that you learn to write structured, reliable and readable code during your stay in the ivory towers.

You can't put an old head on young shoulders. Seriously, check out these MSc theses in C++.

http://www.datasimfinancial.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=198&t=1198

Last edited:
for traders, there is no such thing as the 'best' software. what works for one may not work for another, hence 'crap' software to them. Bear in mind strategies are proprietary.

so you want to make the 'best' software? i hope you don't spend much time writing one only to realize there are hundred of vendors to compete with you for the 'best' title. And good luck finding end users.

So here is my question,