NYU Stern Education Track

Hi! I am currently a Freshman in NYU, will graduate in 2016. Like most Stern students I plan to do a concentration in Finance, however I have a deep-rooted passion for mathematics. So, I went and I talked to the advisor at the Mathematics academy, Courant, and I asked her about the options for pursuing a Major in mathematics.

Here are the options that I have laid out for myself:
Note: Concentration = 4 classes centered around a concept
Major = Full-fledged study on a certain subject
Stern does not function under majors but rather concentrations whereas the other schools in NYU still work under majors/minors
  • Concentration in Finance + Full Major in Mathematics
    • The math major will cover everything from Calculus 1 - 3, Linear Algebra, Probability Theory, Analysis I, Algebra I, ODE, PDE (elective), Further Analysis, Stochastic Processes
    • Concentration in Finance is the basics
      • Corp Finance, Advanced Corp Finance, Debt Instruments, Fixed Incomes Trading, the heavy quantitative courses for the most part
  • Concentration in Finance + Advanced Mathematical Methods Minor + Concentration in another field (Statistics, Economics, OR Information Systems)
    • The minor is a simple set-up of four classes which include, Linear Algebra, Probability Theory, Numerical Analysis, and one of the offered electives which range from ODE, PDE to Stochastic Processes
    • However, I can also take the classes I could not complete in this minor with my other elective space, since I want to take PDE and Stochastic Processes
  • Concentration in Finance + Advanced Mathematical Methods Minor + Computer Science Minor
    • Everything same as above
    • Computer Science Minor
      • More broad than Information Systems
      • Data mining + algorithms etc, applied mathematics