Offer from Imperial College Risk Management and Financial Engineering

Hi guys,

So I'm a final year undergraduate student at the University of Manchester and I've just secured a place with Imperial College for the MSc in RMFE. I have just under 4 weeks to accept this offer and pay the deposit which is close to 5000 USD. I am waiting on a decision from Columbia for the MFE and I haven't applied to any other universities as of yet.

I am partial to an MFE in the USA, partly because of the career prospects and headhunting. But I have heard that an RMFE at Imperial gives me a very high chance of getting a job in London. Although after more research, I'm not so confident about this opinion anymore, thinking I might 'need' an MFE to secure a job as a trader/quantitative analyst, given that I am an international student.

Is anyone with some experience able to tell me about the reputation of Imperial College in the USA and whether it would be foolish to reject my Imperial offer and apply to Baruch, NYU and Cornell/Rutgers or alternatively wait on Columbia?

Thanks a lot in advance lads!

I've heard it's harder to get a job as an international student in London than it is in NY. Where do you want to work?

Yes. But do you have strong feelings toward either?

Can you afford to throw away $5000 in case Columbia replies after the Imperial deadline? Imperial is a great school as well and I have high opinions of my acquaintances who went there. If you end up in a US program you'd be paying (less scholarships) close to 80-100k anyway so you should see this $5k as a small insurance premium.

I'd say for jobs in the US Cornell/Columbia/NYU >= Imperial <=> Baruch > Rutgers. How many do you think you can get into? If you get into one of the top US schools would you go for sure?

Here is how I'd evaluate:

Cost: UK wins by far
Brand name/reputation: Edge to top US programs