Online Masters in Statistics or Quantitative Finance

Hey everyone,

I work as a statistician for a financial institution. My previous masters was in information science with statistics as my major. I am planning for a masters in either Statistics or Quantitative Finance. I would prefer to do my masters online. Any recommendation on which university offer the best program?

Thank you for your suggestion AJ! I just came across their coursework and it looks quite interesting. I am leaning towards applying at UW-Seattle and Columbia. Any idea which school is better in terms of job placement, value and exposure to real world problems? Appreciate all your help. Thanks!

What's the online program offered by Columbia?

facts about School of Prof'l Studies (feel free to debate with facts, or contact Columbia to ask for clarification:
Contact | Columbia University School of Professional Studies
Applied Analytics
appliedanalytics@sps.columbia.edu)

1. very low admissions standard means high acceptance rate and low reputation.
2. columbia is notorious for redirecting rejected applicants to lower-tier programs (e.g. MFE to MSOR). Now they're channeling them out to other schools within the university.
3. no access to on-campus career services, or on-campus recruiting events.
4. most if not all courses are taught by adjuncts (practitioners who're moonlighting to teach), not by tenure-track professors.
5. you may not be able to talk to the instructors b/c there may be no office hours at all!
6. no academic advising by tenure-track professors. there may be a program director (administrator) for you, but profs don't care.
7. a great way to waste money.