Oxford MSc in Mathematical and Computational Finance

• Thread starter Thread starter Iulius
  • Start date Start date
Hey, i received an offer for the stated course and i have to decide if i take the offer until the end of march. i would really like to complete a further research degree afterwards. i think i should be able to fund the MSc course but i dont know how to proceed with the funding of a research degree. since i am currently studying in germany, i am not familiar with the usual procedure regarding funding (we dont pay much). before i accept the offer i want to make sure that i am able to do the MSc and a research degree (even if not in Oxford but maybe London). could you give me any advice? how do you usually fund a research degree if you dont have rich parents? is it maybe stupid to accept the offer considering my plans (and my lack of money)?

thank you very much

From what I've read, the MSMCF isn't a research degree, but a taught masters. Did you consider PhDs in the UK? I know at Imperial there is a MRes+PhD programme which seems quite reputable. A DPhil at Oxford (or elsewhere) would allow you to take the MSMCF courses (it's stated on the website), whilst pursuing your research.

If you are an EU student there are competitive scholarships or fellowships that are available to you if you have an outstanding undergraduate degree.

You might want to talk to Oxford directly about your plans and whether it would be likely to proceed to the DPhil after the MSMCF.

yes youre right the MSCMCF isnt a research degree. i wanted to go on with a research degree (or phd) afterwards and i have also seen the MRes + PhD course at imperial which seems quite interesting but at first i would still like to do the MSc.
i have an appointment with the admission and funding office in oxford next week but i wanted to get some independent opinions, too.