Please Review my Profile + How to compensate for poor grades

Hi All,

TL;DR - Bad grades, decent GRE, varied but largely unrelated work experience. Want to become math based trader / financial coder but lack the background for MFM / MFE, how do I proceed?

I'm applying to financial mathematics programs starting in the fall of 2014. I realize it's very late to do anything about it now but I would really appreciate some advice on how to strengthen my profile, and whether it might be worth it to defer my plan to 2015 and spend proper time on doing so.

I majored in Information Technology at NITK Surathkal, India (class of 2010). My final year project was about using genetic algorithms to solve NP-hard portfolio optimization problems (transaction lot sizes were discrete, trading costs were considered.) Researching the applications of AI in finance while working on this project is what got me interested in the field. Recently, I've been reading Nassim Nicholas Taleb and Jack Schwager's Market Wizards and have decided that quantitative trading / strategy development is what I want to do.

overall CGPA: 6.79 / 10.00
Engineering Maths (including multi-variate calculus and differential equations): 6.5 / 10.0
Probability Theory with Statistics (but not stochastic calculus or anything): 6 / 10
Numerical Methods: 4 / 10 (don't ask)
Computer Science courses: all 7+ / 10

GRE: 165 quant (91%), 166 verbal (96%) [I got 800 and 590 respectively when I had written it in 2009]