Quantitative finance masters comparison UK

• Thread starter Thread starter kolamy
  • Start date Start date
Hi Everyone,

I'm a software engineer and an oversea student with two years of experience. I want to enter the finance sector and work in the UK.
I received several offers for MSc in Quantitative Finance (and similar) from the following universities:
  • University of Glasgow : Quantitative Finance MSc
  • University of Leicester : MSc in Financial Mathematics and Computation
  • Newcastle University : MSc in Quantitative Finance and Risk Management
  • Queen Mary University of London : MSc Mathematical Finance
  • University of Sussex : MSc in Financial Mathematics
  • University of Strathclyde : MSc in Quantitative Finance
  • University of Exeter : MSc Financial Mathematics and MSc Computational Finance
  • The University of Leeds : MSc Financial Mathematics
  • University of Essex : MSc Financial Engineering and Risk Management and MSc Computational Finance
  • Birkbeck College : MSc in Financial Engineering.

I'm still waiting for university of Lancaster's Quantitative Finance MSc response.
Please help me in choosing the better one from the above and why is it good and how are the job prospects.

Thank you very much in advance.

In terms of level of superiority, Mr KJs (implicit) recommendation is spot on.

Caution: if overseas means "work visa required", be advised that this is not easily attainable. Specifically, the overwhelming majority of MFE international students are given the boot upon completion of their programme. Even for Imperial we're talking somewhere around 90+%.

Also, insofar as you wish to work as a quant, observe that an MSc typically not will meet the entrance requirements of any financial institution in the UK worth working for. In other words: you'll need to do a PhD as well.

A harsh reality indeed!

Please help me in choosing the better one from the above and why is it good and how are the job prospects.