Quantitative Risk analyst

• Thread starter Thread starter luoz
  • Start date Start date
Hi guys

I've the opportunity to work as a quant. risk analyst. I've already searched the web and found this interesting discussion here about risk management in general. Maybe some of the more experienced professionals within this forum can give their two cents about future prospect and the work in general.
Since I have no other experience in the financial sector it is rather hard for me to value this particular job. Obviously I'm also interested in a pure quantitative analyst job. So it would also be interesting to see the differences, the possibility to move in either direction etc.
I'm very thankful for any new insights!

cheers

luoz

Last edited:
The workload in risk has increased by an order of magnitude since the crisis. A lot of it isn't glamorous, but it is engaging and a great place to cut your teeth. I say that because at some point, most people need to "put in their time." I don't mean to say it's just time-in-grade, but rather to suggest that most people I quant jobs need to get their 10,000 hours. For some, it's running hundreds of thousands of regressions (for me it was, anyway). For others it's writing tens of thousands of lines of code. For still others, it's reviewing hundreds (if not thousands) of models.

If you have a foot in the door at a respectable firm, take advantage of that.

Good luck.

Thanks a lot for your answer and insights. I really appreciated it! Maybe some additional questions: Are quant. risk analysts regarded as real quants within the financial area? So after getting some experience as a quant. risk analyst one has still the opportunity to move towards the front office (if wanted). At least it isn't a drawback? Since I have no experience I just want to leave all doors open :)
Again, I'm very thankful for any new insights.