Taking A Self-Paced Programming Course at University Next Term... C or C ++?

Hi all,

I have no idea if I will end up as a quant or a professor or literally anything. I like to think I have every door there is open for future still - finance, defense, academia, national labs, something else I haven't thought of yet. But next term I am wanting to take a self-paced programming course at my university. I have been using Matlab for like the past 7 years and I definitely consider myself proficient in that to say the least. Recently I have been trying to branch away from Matlab and use Python for my research work to learn a new language.

Next term after summer, the fall term, I want to take a real course here at school for a higher level language... be it C or C++.

I see that C++ seems to be more talked about here and more applicable to the quantitative finance world? So why would I want to take a course in C isntead? Well I used C for my undergrad research. And while I would not consider myself proficient in C and I haven't touched it in years, I would imagine picking up C again will be more intuitive than starting from scratch with C++.

Curious what you guys think... should I stick with C or try C++ for a self paced programming course?

Thanks for the thoughts.

The major difference between C and C++ is that C is a procedural programming language and does not support classes and objects, while C++ is a combination of both procedural and object oriented programming language; therefore C++ can be called a hybrid language.

So in otherwords C++ does stuff that C doesn't.

C++ is an object-oriented. It supports templates.

And C++11 is a new ball game.

C is still popular in embedded, highly technical applications. In my QN C++ course the first 2 modules are C. Then we move to C++.

Quants tend to C++.

A lot of stuff in C is old/deprecated/not used in C++ mainstream. But C is still an amazing language, nonetheless.

TIOBE Index | TIOBE - The Software Quality Company