Undergraduate Coursework: Econ vs Math

Which concentration?

• Total voters
Hello all,

I'm a sophomore studying Applied Mathematics at a mid tier private school. In my program, we choose a concentration in which we take extra coursework. I am debating between doing a concentration in economics or one in pure math. If I were to do the econ concentration I would take classes in price theory and econometrics and I would end up getting a minor in econ, whereas if I do the math concentration I will take real analysis, algebra, measure theory based probability and PDE.

The classes in my core program move really quickly and cover a lot of topics that are useful in quant finance, especially in my senior year we will learn about random variables, Markov processes, martingales, time series analysis, stochastic PDEs etc. However from what I understand a lot of the stuff is taught fairly superficially with the point being to be able to use it rather than have a really solid rigorous background. I guess the goal is breadth over depth.

Now, my question: what will benefit me most if I want to go on to have a career in quant research, potentially returning eventually to school and earning a doctorate. Is it better for me to have something econ/finance related on my resume(to show potential employers that I am financially literate)? Or would the deeper background in theoretical math benefit me more?

Unfortunately no, I changed my major at the beginning of this year from Comp Sci, so I'm already trying to cram 4 years of this major into 3 years. I'm already going to be struggling to keep my GPA high enough to be competitive for grad programs as it is.