What should I do?

• Thread starter Thread starter ribero
  • Start date Start date
Hello. I'm a staff accountant at an accounting firm. I've been in this industry a few years. Now, I'm 27 years old and figured out that I don't want to be in this industry anymore. I decided to change my career. I always wanted to be a quant. I know this is very hard and, perhaps, is quite late to start to be a quant. But, I want to try before it's really really late.

I graduated from UIC and majored in finance. Took only Calculus I (actually, took it during high school) and never learned any programming. My biggest concern is that I did not take enough math courses during college.

Here are some options that I have in mind:

1) Taking some math and programming courses at a local college school and try for MSFE at UIUC.
- I'm not sure if this local school is good enough to prepare Graduate school.
- If I take this route, then my actual attendance to UIUC will be in 2015. This is making me to hesitate.
- Or, I can try for MSF and focus on Financial Engineering specialization.

2) Take GMAT/GRE and go for MSF in IIT.
- I heard IIT MSF is okay. I found Financial Engineering concentration from the website, but I'm not sure about the quality compared to MMF that IIT provides.
- Or, I can go to IIT MSF and also study some math courses in local college. Then, try to transfer to IIT MMF. (I don't think I can go to MMF right away because I did not take Calculus II or more advanced math courses.)

3) Going back to UIC and get second bachelor's degree in Mathematics and Computer Science.
- Perhaps, this option might take the longest time among the options, but learn thoroughly.

I picked these list because I want to stay in Chicago. However, if there are better options away from Chicago, I'm willing to take it.

Thanks in advance.

I believe you can take math courses offered by UIUC to prepare your math.

I think this math Certificate from UIUC will prepare you for math on MSFE: