Young College Student Looking for Grad. School Tips/Advice

As the title states I am a college student who is interested in graduate school. I was wondering if anyone can give me advice about what can make me seem more appealing to these top notch graduate programs since I'm sure that GPA/GRE Scores aren't everything. Does the "ranking" of your undergraduate university matter in the admissions process?

Everything matters a bit. Some things more than others. Academics and GRE scores probably matter most. Relevant job experience is also important. The "ranking" of your undergraduate university matters to some people, but maybe not so much to others.

I need some more clarification on this whole "ranking" matter. For example, let's say that an admissions committee is looking at a kid from Harvard with a 3.2 GPA versus a kid from a top 200 university (so a university not so bad nor so WOW) with a 3.8 GPA. Would the 3.2 GPA be as good or even better than the 3.8? Also, do internships count as relative job experience because I know that these graduate schools accept people right out of undergrad.? If not university prestige then what separates the people from the numbers because clearly only a handful of applicants are chosen from a pool of equally qualified people?

Last edited: